Sesame & Oat Biscuits

6 Apr

I like anything made with oats, must be my Scottish upbringing, and this recipe came from a book called Scottish Cakes & Baking. I’ve changed it somewhat by adding the sesame seeds, not very Scottish I know but they do add great flavour and texture. I also reduced the amount of sugar, the original recipe called for 150g, which made the biscuits too sweet for me. The result are delicious, sweet, nutty, crisp but, with a little bit of chew in the middle, biscuits. Very simple to make and I love them.
Makes about 18
* 150g rolled oats
* 110g sugar
* 2-3 tbsp sesame seeds
* 1 tsp baking powder
* 100g butter
* 1 egg

Preheat an oven to 200c, 400f, Gas 6.
Put all the dry ingredients into a bowl, melt the butter in a microwave or pan and stir into the mix, beat the egg and stir it in. Use a teaspoon to spoon out dollops of the mix onto baking sheets, leaving enough room for the biscuits to spread, and bake until golden brown and crisp at the edges. (it takes 7-10 minutes in my oven but the thing is a law unto itself). Cool on the tray for a minute or so then lift off and finish cooling on a cooling rack if you’ve got one. I use an insert from a roasting pan.

Variation
I tried adding pounded unsalted peanuts to one batch and they were delicious too.

Recipe Source
I based this recipe on one I found for Oaty Thins in Scottish Cakes and Baking Dione Pattullo, 1980, Pub; Johnston & Bacon, Cassell ISBN 0 7179 4273 2, although I have changed it quite a bit so it has less sugar and butter and has the addition of seds or nuts.

This recipe was originally posted on www.masdudiable.com on 6/4/2008.

Leave a Reply

