Cauliflower with Cashews

18 Apr

This delicately spiced, vegetable dish is really stunning because it makes the very best use of fresh home grown cauliflower. The cauliflower is sautéed in a light spice mix and then steamed in its own juices until it is tender but still crisp and light – brilliant. I think this recipe would also work well with courgettes or wax beans perhaps even chayote or other unusual cucurbits, I will certainly give it or something like it a try later in the year when they are in season. Meanwhile this cauliflower dish has become one of our houshold favourites.
Serves 4 Cooking 15-20 minutes

  • 4 tbsp oil
  • 2 tsp grated ginger
  • 1-2 tsp cumin seed
  • 8-10 curry leaves
  • pinch cracked black pepper
  • handful cashews
  • Cauliflower, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne powder
  • pinch of salt
  • a little water
  • small handful of fresh coriander leaf
  • small pot of yogurt

Heat the oil and add the ginger, cumin seed, curry leaves, and cracked black pepper then fry for a minute or two. Add the cashews and the cauliflower, stir and fry until the cauliflower is beginning to catch and turn brown. Sprinkle in the turmeric, cayenne, salt, a little water to cover the bottom of the pan and half of the coriander. Cover and cook for 10 – 15 minutes until the cauliflower is cooked but still crisp. Stir in the yogurt, a little at a time to prevent curdling, and the rest of the coriander. Serve with freshly made chapatis or rice and perhaps another vegetable dish. For ideas see my page of Indian Recipes

Variations
Add 2-3 whole dry chillis, such as red Kashmir chillis at the frying stage for an extra heat level to the dish. The original recipe was for peas rather than cashews and both are delicious.

Recipe source
Inspired by Cauliflower and Green Peas P 179 from Lord Krishna’s Cuisine:The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking by Yumanua Devi a brilliant book. I haven’t followed the recipe exactly in fact it is quite changed but the basic spicing came from this source.
18/4/2009

One Response to “Cauliflower with Cashews”

  1. Laura Hudson 10/10/2009 at 01:05 #

    Comments from MDD 1. Kate wrote:Oh Laura you do make this sound so scrumptious, which I am sure it is but you are very good at describing its virtues!4/28/09 3:31:39 AM email website2. Maggie wrote:Hi Laura,This recipe sounds great, I often read your Indian recipe section for inspiration and like you often change recipes to suit my tastes and pantry or garden supplies.Do you have a favorite Indian cook book?4/29/09 3:39:20 AM email website3. Colin wrote:I honestly love cauliflower but with cashew? I find it a bit disgusting because it’s not probably a good match for me but as I view its posted photo above, it looks so tempting. I wish my wife will surprise me with this kind of dish one of this day..5/28/09 8:56:17 AM email4. AJSR wrote:I'm so glad I found your blog! Not only because I am a beginner vegetable gardener, but also because my husband is French, and we will probably move to France some day. Plus, I have been looking for a delicious way to eat cauliflower for a long time. All the cauliflower recipes I've found so far are pretty bland. I'll try this one; it looks really good!6/1/09 12:16:10 AM email website5. Laura wrote:Kate if I describe it well enough perhaps you will have a go a making it??? 🙂 it is delicious. AJSR hope you like my spicy cauliflower recipe do let me know how it works out for you. Caulifower and cashew are a great match at least in my opinion Colin and the recipe is right here so why don't you make it yourself and see. Maggie I do have a favourite Indian cookbook and it is the one I used as a starting point for this recipe its called Lord Krishna's Cuisine;The Art Of Indian Vegetarian Cooking. I bought it recently and it is fantastic so many new cooking methods and vegetables to try. I am growing a lot of new veg this year most of them are Indian in origin or specifically to make Indian dishes.

Leave a Reply

