Turnip Kimchi

30 Sep

Fantastically hot Korean inspired quick pickle of white turnips or radishes. I was hoping to harvest some Mooli later this autumn but the wild pigs got to it before I did.  I’ve had this dish fixed in my mind and still wanted to make it so I bought some white radishes or mooli in the market yesterday. Kimchee is most commonly made with Chinese Cabbage and is, some say, the national dish of Korea. I find treating white turnips or radish in a similar way makes quite a delicious quick pickle.

  • White turnip or radish
  • Salt
  • chilli powder
  • grated ginger
  • crushed garlic
  • garlic chives

Wash and peel the radishes/turnips then cut into small batons. Sprinkle with 1 tbsp of salt per 300g of vegetable and mix well. Loosely cover and leave to steep overnight. The next day rinse to remove excess salt and make up the hot paste to taste stir into the turnips and leave to mature for a few more hours before serving. Keeps well for a week or two in the fridge.

Note I make my own chilli powder using a blend of some very hot, medium hot and some mildly spicy peppers to get my preferred heat level.

2 Responses to “Turnip Kimchi”

  1. Anonymous 06/11/2010 at 23:50 #

    About 10 years ago I fudged my way through making Kimchi–went to several Korean groceries and just asked the women I met there how they made theirs, then I filled up several crocks with a combined version of the stuff–it lasted through the winter and was wonderful. Interestingly, I used NO sugar and NO flour, but it was very spicy (which I enjoy). Anyone out there have a recipe for the napa-type cabbage kimchi to overwinter?Thanks!

  2. Laura 07/11/2010 at 10:18 #

    I have a recipe (tried and tested) somewhere for kimchi with cabbage I will look it up and post it. I have not heard of kimchi with sugar or flour in it ???

Leave a Reply

