Aubergine Chutney (hot&sour)

1 Oct

Hot, sour and oily this Indian style aubergine chutney is really rich and will add a touch of luxury to a simple meal. Perfect with Indian breads, dhal crackers, pulses, potatoes, greens and rice dishes. I’ve got the last of this years aubergines that need to be used and one of my favourite things is chutney so I’ve been experimenting and came up with this beauty. Loosely based on Aubergine Chutney (Goan Style) in terms of spices but this one is fried in wonderfully pungent mustard oil and soured with vinegar and tamarind, it also has lots of freshly ground cayenne chilli powder.
*500g Aubergines
*150ml mustard oil
*5cm piece ginger, peeled
*10 cloves garlic, peeled
*10 dried curry leaves (optional)
*175ml white vinegar
*1 tsp salt
*4 tbsp tamarind pulp or 1-2 tsp tamarind concentrate
*2-4 tbsp sugar (to taste)
*3-5 fresh red chillis, sliced into thin rounds.
Spice mix
*1 tbsp mustard seeds
*1 tsp fenugreek seeds
*1 tbsp cumin seeds
*2 tsp turmeric
*1 tbsp ground dried hot chilli (cayenne)

Grind the ginger and garlic with a little of the white vinegar to help form a paste and set aside. Dry roast the whole spices, cool and grind to a powder. Mix the powder with the turmeric and chilli powder to make the spice mix and set aside.
Wash the aubergines and remove the stalks. Cut into thin matchsticks. In a large sauce pan heat the mustard oil until it starts to smoke then throw in the prepared aubergines in batches to fry (it should only take a few minutes for each batch if the oil is hot), then remove each batch with a slotted spoon and set aside. Once the aubergines are done, make sure all the debris is out of the pan, add the garlic & ginger paste and fry that for 2 or 3 minutes. When the raw garlic smell starts to disappear add the spice mix, stir well and fry for a minute or two then return the aubergines to the pan along with the remaining ingredients. Cook for 15-20minutes until the oil rises to the top and the aubergines are starting to go creamy. Spoon into warm sterilized jars. This chutney is not ready to eat right away because it has quite a bit of vinegar in it as a preservative. I’ve been munching on it with papadums as I can’t wait it is so delicious, but it would be better to let it mellow for a month or so before eating. If you want a chutney you can eat straight away don’t use the vinegar, you could use more tamarind and lemon juice instead. As always if you don’t want something as hot as this just cut back on the chilli powder or fresh chillis.
Originally posted http://www.masdudiable.com 27/11/2008

Note
I made this recipe once with aubergines I bought rather than grown in my garden and they behaved very differently soaking up all the oil and not releasing it again. If you are using spongy aubergines I would suggest changing the cooking method as follows fry the curry leaves and spices in the oil then add the garlic ginger paste then add all the aubergines at once and cook as original recipe.

2 Responses to “Aubergine Chutney (hot&sour)”

  1. Laura Hudson 01/10/2009 at 10:09 #

    Comments copied from original post1. Weeping Sore wrote:Your recipe sounds as delicious as it looks. I envy your amazing garden and home, and I'm enjoying reading along as you grow. What an adventure you have made together!12/2/08 2:02:25 PM email website2. Matron wrote:That chutney sounds wonderful! I've just posted my Christmas chutney recipe. A great time of year to use up stored apples and pumpkins!12/6/08 2:59:41 AM email website3. jim wrote:Hi love the blog We're jealous we (wife and 2 kids) have been thinking of moving to france for years. We went as far as moving out of our house and spending a few months traveling in france and looking for property. couldn't find exactly what we wanted or didn't know so we came back to the UK. Still dream of moving but we have settled down on a farm here now. who knows… But the the question I have for you as you seem to know your chutneys, chillis etc, do you know of a good garlic pickle recipe? I have a couple hundred garlic heads left that I grew but couldn't sell and don't know what to do with them. Jim12/23/08 5:31:25 PM email4. helen wrote:I am soo happy to find your blog! I also make chuntneys and although I dislike aubergines I will try it .1/9/09 5:11:12 AM email website5. Laura wrote:Sadly Jim I do not have a good garlic pickle recipe. I did once try making it from a recipe I think may have come from a garlic grower in the uk but frankly I didn't like it much in fact it was horrible. The jar hung around in the fridge for longer than I dare think about until I finally put it and me out of the misery and binned the contents of the jar. Such a waste so I have not tried again. So sorry not to be of help. I should give it another go and start from scratch to work up a recipe myself or ask my sister, who makes a pickled garlic that everyone raves about, for her recipe when I see her next.1/9/09 10:41:03 AM email website6. Linda wrote:This sounds wonderful. i"m going to try to convert it to hot & sour pumpkin chutney, because I can't find my original recipe.1/17/09 4:52:38 PM email7. Laura wrote:Good idea Linda but beware the technique is suited to aubergines. I would not fry the pumpkin in the same way. You could try tempering the oil and spices and then adding the pumpkin. Hope it works.1/20/09 6:53:40 AM email website8. Linda wrote:oh dear! I think it would have worked fine, but I added shrimp paste by mistake as it looked just like the tamarind pot. The result is a strange but not unpleasant taste – not what I wanted though. Will have another go.2/4/09 9:00:30 PM email

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ratatouille with a kick | 5:2 food - 04/09/2013

    […] garden is churning out peppers, eggplants and tomatoes faster than I can keep up. I made a lovely spicy eggplant chutney at the weekend and plan to preserve more of them up by making another batch of that, but in the […]

Leave a Reply

