Preserved Lemons

12 Jan

This is one of those ingredients that can transform a dish. Indispensable in North African cooking salt pickled lemons are easy to make and last for ages.

Heres how I make them.

  • 6 lemons
  • Juice of 3-4 lemons
  • 1 tsp salt for each lemon+1 tbsp salt
  • boiled water

Choose small perfect lemons wash each lemon in hot water and leave to dry fully before using. Meanwhile sterilize a large jar that will hold 6 whole lemons, I find kilner jars are perfect for this pickle. Put a tbsp of salt in the bottom of the jar along with the lemon juice and give it a good shake. Now prepare the lemons; remove the tip of the branch end and with a sharp knife cut a slit vertically through the lemon, but not all the way through, then make a second slit vertically to make a cross keeping the bottom end intact. Put a spoon of salt into the centre of each cut lemon and place in the jar, push the lemons down as you go until the jar is full. Add more lemons if there is room. Cover with boiled water that has been left to cool, close the lid and give the jar a good shake then set aside to mature for 4 weeks. Give the jar a shake every day.

3 Responses to “Preserved Lemons”

  1. Christina 13/01/2010 at 04:20 #

    Now that I've been using preserved lemons for a few years, I think I cannot live without them. I make mine with more salt that you use here and no boiled water. I'm sure the effect is similar though–salty good lemony wonderfulness. YUM!

  2. Farmgirl Susan 21/01/2010 at 20:42 #

    I've been wanting to preserve lemons for ages. Thanks for the inspirational reminder – and the simple instructions! 🙂

  3. Accidental Huswife 27/01/2010 at 17:09 #

    Hey I just found your blog. Love it! I've been meaning to try preserving lemons and I think you've inspired me!

Leave a Reply

