Yogurt Cake

27 Mar

This cake is inspired; simple, light, moist and tasty. A magical alchemy of yogurt, flour, eggs, sugar and oil make this.

  • 1 cup yogurt (200ml)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1.5 cups sugar (300ml)
  • 1/2 cup oil (100ml)
  • 3 cups flour (600ml)
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Heat an oven to 180-200c (medium-hot).
Bung all the ingredients in a mixing bowl and beat together to form a thick batter. It does not seem to matter which order you put the ingredients in, though for some reason I choose to put the first 4 ingredients in the bowl and beat together before adding the flour and baking powder but it works just as well, as far as I can tell, in any order.
Grease the bottom of a cake tin with a tiny amount of butter or oil and line with a sheet of baking paper cut to size. Pour the batter into the tin and pop into the oven on the lowest shelf. Cook for 30 minutes (in a fan oven and up to 45 minutes in a conventional one) or until a skewer pushed into the cake comes out clean. Remove from the tin and cool on a wire rack (if you can wait that long it is delicious warm).

Recipe Source I got the recipe from an organic miller, at the annual forgotten fruit market in St. Jean du Gard last winter, where I bought ‘petit épeautre’ flour. The miller had made this cake to demonstrate the flour, known as einkorn wheat in English (Triticum monococcum) and thought to be the oldest and most primitive cultivated wheat. The recipe I was given never quite worked, it was too wet and sweet but I liked the idea of the cake and the taste of the flour and worked on it to get a better consistency and now the balance is just right. I ran out of petit épeautre ages ago and now use just plain patisserie flour or self-raising flour and leave out the baking powder and it still tastes great.
Variations for an aromatic vanilla flavoured cake use vanilla sugar instead of plain or add the grated zest of an orange for a delicious orangey tang.
Note I used cups of 200ml volume and a 26cm diameter cake tin but this recipe is a relational one and if you use a smaller cake tin you could reduce the volume. The original recipe was given to me in the measurement of yogurt pots (150ml) 1 yogurt pot and 3 eggs (1 egg = 50ml) which made the batter too eggy and wet so I have reduced the quantity of eggs and 1 egg to 100ml turns out perfectly.


7 Responses to “Yogurt Cake”

  1. Rosie 27/03/2010 at 11:39 #

    I have it as 1 pot yog, 1 pot veg oil, 2 pots sugar, 3 pots SR flour, 3 eggs, pinch salt. Was told could use flavoured yog. But usually add lemon zest and juice/orange zest and juice or raisins and sprinkle with demarara sugar. Yum

  2. Laura 27/03/2010 at 12:23 #

    Hi Rosie The original I was given was 1 pot yogurt, 2 pots sugar, 3 pots flour, 3 eggs, 1.2 pot oil 1 tsp baking powder. A little different (less oil) but otherwise the same. I'd be interested to see what you think if you try this recipe – I like it better than the one I started with.

  3. Rosie 28/03/2010 at 09:30 #

    Can I just check the oil measurement in your recipe? If a cup is 200ml is 1/2 cup oil, 50ml?

  4. Laura 28/03/2010 at 11:48 #

    oops my mistake Rosie its 100ml and original recipe was half a yogurt pot have changed the error. Thanks for pointing out.

  5. Maria 30/03/2010 at 08:45 #

    I have it pretty similar to Rosie, from my grandmother in Spain – one pot (lemon flavoured) yogurt, 1 pot oil, 2 pot sugar, 3 pots SR flour, 3 eggs, pinch of salt. The yogurt gives it a lovely sponginess. I think it would work better with plain yogurt and using lemon zest though :o)

  6. Vild med have 01/04/2010 at 11:51 #

    I will try this cake. Have you ever tried with some lumps of jam?

  7. Anthony 16/08/2010 at 19:00 #

    I bet this is really nice after eating your Mince and Potato Curry. Thanks again for sharing with us all.

Leave a Reply

